The department of Physics was established in the year 1962. The department was headed by Dr. J.P.S. Rana who was supported by Mr. S.K. Mathur, Dr. V. P. Varshney and Mr. S.N. Gaur. They were later joined by Dr. R. P. Singh and Dr. V. P. Gupta. Post graduate classes were started in September 1973 and in 1974 Dr. D. K. Gupta was appointed as Reader and Head of the department. Mr. S. K. Varshney joined as lecturer in the department. Under the leadership of Dr. D. K. Gupta, the department made rapid strides in the field of academics and research. The department received several grants from UGC, CSIR, Department of Science and Technology, States of U.P. and NCERT. With limited departmental resources existing at the time, collaboration with AMU Aligarh, I.I.T., Kanpur; I.I.T., Delhi and financial assistance from UGC and CSIR, research activities in Nuclear Spectroscopy, Lattice Dynamics, Solid State Physics: Hyperfine Interaction Mossbauer Spectroscopy, Radiation Physics, Laser Optics and Plasma Physics were initiated. Dr. K. D. Verma joined the department in 1990 and Dr. Mukesh Kumar in 1993. They were later joined by Dr. Manoj Kumar Sharma and Dr. Manish Gupta. Besides excellence in teaching, the current faculty members have raised grants of around 50 lakhs rupees from various funding agencies (UGC, DAE-BRNS) in the recent past. At present Dr. K. D. Verma is the head of the department and he is supported by Dr. Mukesh Kumar, Dr. Manoj Sharma and Dr. Manish Gupta.

Student and teacher strength – At present the department has a sanctioned strength of 7 teachers to teach about 240 undergraduate and 48 postgraduate students.

Curriculum Planning and Implementation – The department offers both undergraduate and postgraduate courses. Classes are organized as per the academic calendar and curriculum plan prepared in the beginning of the session.

Learning Resources – The department of Physics is one of the best departments for undergraduate and postgraduate studies in Physics in the university. The college library has collection of several rare books. Besides this, the departmental library has about 100 books contributed by the teachers, alumni and students. The department has also procured several rare equipment for UG and PG classes and Ph.D. as well.

Additional Study Material – In class notes, additional reading material and appropriate references to online and physical resources enhance the learning experience.

Assessment – Regular tests ensure familiarity with question paper pattern and develop better answer writing skills.

Learning Outcome – The department has a consistent pass percentage of around 80%.

Best Practices – Best practices include ICT enabled teaching, telephonic off campus guidance, E – learning through WhatsApp groups and open discussions to identify weaknesses and appropriate corrective measures. Teachers guide students to take up initiatives like “Physics Fiesta” an annual cultural festival of the department under the Physics association and visits to various research laboratories. Alumni engagement and career counselling are the corner stones of stones of the department’s student centric activities.

Feedback from Stakeholders – To identify latent needs of students the feedback is collected from both students and parents.

Research and Publications – The teachers of the department are actively engaged in research activities and have published several research papers in Journals of international and national repute, seminal proceeding, books and book chapters. About 100 research papers have been published during 2008 – 2018. Ten scholars have been awarded Ph.D. degree in Physics during 2008 – 2015. At present one research scholar is enrolled in the department.

Dr. Manoj Kumar Sharma
Assistant Professor
Dr. Satyendra Kumar Gautam
Assistant Professor
Dr. Manish Gupta
Assistant Professor
Dr. Madhu Sudan
Assistant Professor